iNet_forum_header_100112
Canon USA
Reply
New Contributor
jealkon
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-09-2013
Accepted Solution

Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

[ Edited ]

Running Windows7, 64 bit Oper System

Canon MX870

Scanning was not an issue prior to a few days ago. No new software or programs have been installed.

Went to scan a document and scanning looked like it was working, then it greyed out and received error message: Canon MP Navigator EX has stopped working.

Searched internet for solutions and tried them. Nothing works. I've gone as far to un-install all Canon products and utilities, even went into registry and searched and removed everything I thought I could related to Canon.

 

Still receive error. What do I do now?

 

Guess I've pretty much stumped the panal since there's been no response

 

Please use plain text.
Product Expert
Michael
Posts: 715
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

Hello jealkon.

 

For testing purposes, please try to temporarily disable any firewall or anti-spyware programs on the computer to see if this will allow the program to run properly.

 

Also, if you have a different user account on the computer, try using or creating a different account to try and narrow down the cause of the error.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jealkon
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-09-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

Previously tried each of your suggestions and also tried this again. Stll does not work. I actually tried launching under the other three profiles on my PC and well a creating a new one.

Please use plain text.
Product Expert
Karl1
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎01-16-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

[ Edited ]

Hi jealkon,

 

There may be a third party scanner driver interfering with MP navigator.  Please try the following:

 

1.  Click 'Start' and then 'Computer'.

 

2.  On the left-hand pane, click the down arrow beside Local Disk (C: ).

 

3.  Click the down arrow beside Windows to open the folder

 

4.  Highlight the twain_32 folder.

 

5.  The folder should have 2 folders that start with PIXMA MX870 and a file called wiatwain.ds.  Any other folders or files should be dragged to the desktop. 

 

6.  Reboot the computer and try scanning again.

 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jealkon
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-09-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

Thanks so much, there was one additional file. SDC330Twain that was int folder. Put that on desktop, rebooted and scanning appears to be working.

Consider yourself a genius because no one has been able to solve the issue

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jflowers
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-10-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

[ Edited ]

Had this same problem with an Lide 110 scanner and found the same file (sdc330Twain.ds) in C:\windows\twain_32, removing it sorted the problem - Thanks Very Much :smileyhappy: 

 

Just to add, this file is installed with 'Smart Notebook' which is interactive white board software from Smart Technologies. From the small amount of testing since removing this file, the Smart software still seems to operate as normal, but updating the Smart software reinstalls the sdc330twain.ds file.

 

Thanks

 

Jon

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
ANNABELLA2
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-16-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX3600

I have been using my printer with this computer happily for  several years and I have started getting and error meeage:

canon mP navigator Ex stopped working. Only the scanner is effected.

 

 I have tried:

uninstalling the scanner software and then all the printer software.

Looking for hidden files in the network shortcuts: none found

Looking in the  SDC330Twain folder for additional files and none were found.

 I have rung Canon who advised me to reinstall windows which seems rather extreme and Microsoft.who directed me back to Canon.

 

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Moderator
Stephen
Posts: 469
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX3600

Hi ANNABELLA2!
Welcome to The Canon Forums, and thank you for your inquiry! We appreciate your participation, however we need to let you know that the Canon Forum is hosted and moderated within the United States by Canon USA. Canon USA is only able to provide support for Canon products manufactured for and used in the US market. If you live outside the United States, please click here and select your country or region for your support needs. Feel free to discuss Canon products sold outside of the United States, but please be aware that you will not receive support directly from Canon USA.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
aplatt1951
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-03-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX3600

I have the same problem as Annabelle. I have tried all these, there is no file in the network settings and the following are in my

 

twain_32 folder:

 

MX350 series (folder)

wiatwain.ds  (file)

 

thats it.

 

Cannot scan. this is very frustrating. I live in the US.

Please use plain text.
Moderator
Stephen
Posts: 469
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX3600

Hi aplatt1951!

Welcome to the Canon Forums! So that the Community can help you better, we will need to know exactly what equipment you're using, any error messages you're getting, and the Computer Operating System you're using (Windows XP/Vista/7/8 or Mac 10.x), as well as the way you connect to your device (USB or networked via WiFi or Ethernet). Any other details you'd like to give will only help the Community better understand your issue! Thanks and have a great day!

Please use plain text.